peptidedosing.eu

Expert profile

Dr Craig Koniver

Physician; founder of Koniver Wellness (Charleston, US, and London)

9checked quotes
8on dosing
8peptides

Koniver is a US board-certified physician whose clinics offer peptide, hormone and NAD+ treatments. The quotes here come from his October 2024 Huberman Lab interview, using the speaker-labelled transcript published on hubermanlab.com. That page notes the transcript was still “under human review”. He describes what he uses with patients, not a general recommendation, and several of the peptides he mentions had by then been restricted for US compounding.

iNo endorsement. Dr Craig Koniver is quoted for public statements only and does not endorse this site. Quotes are word for word; follow each link for the full context.

BPC-157

Healing & recovery

On dosing

With patients: from 500 up to 5,000 mcg a day

Dose
“500 micrograms a day, up to 5,000 micrograms a day”
How often
“five days on, two days off”

“I think, for people understanding using BPC, we started with a dose of 500 micrograms a day. We got up to 5,000 micrograms a day. We'd like a protocol of five days on, two days off.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: Describing what his clinic has used with patients (“we’re talking about thousands upon thousands of patients”). Just before, he says they started “with the dose based upon these, like you said, animal studies, which is conservative” and then went higher. The route is not stated here. Later in the episode he says BPC-157 can no longer be compounded in the US.

Ipamorelin

Growth hormone boosters

On dosing

With patients: 100 mcg at bedtime

Dose
“100 micrograms (or less)”
How taken
“injecting”
When
“at bedtime”

“Taking advantage then of injecting something like Ipomerelin at bedtime […] the dosage of ipamorelin, and most of these growth hormone-related peptides, should be 100 micrograms. That's the max dose to bind the receptor. […] Ipamorelin, very clean. As long as you stay within 100 micrograms or less, people are going to lean out a little bit, sleep a little bit better.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: “Ipomerelin” is the transcript’s spelling. The last part is from a few turns later; Huberman then says “They take it pre-sleep” and Koniver answers “Pre-sleep at bedtime.”

On safety & evidence

Safety: reactions he links to higher doses

“What I've seen is, with ipamorelin, rare, but some people do get anaphylaxis, and it's happened. I think that happens when people are pushing it and giving more than they should. I've heard of that. They're giving 200, 300, 400 micrograms at a time, which is a big dose.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: His own observation, not a study result. He goes on to describe flushing that people mistake for the peptide “working”.

Hexarelin

Growth hormone boosters

On dosing

What he typically prescribes: 100 mcg

Dose
“100 micrograms”

“Right, but hexarelin still exists. That can be compounded. […] A 100 micrograms. It's the same as these other, like ipamorelin, GHRP-6, a 100 micrograms.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: The cut is Andrew Huberman’s question: “What’s the dosage on hexarelin that you typically prescribe?” He does not say how often in this answer; earlier in the episode he describes giving growth-hormone peptides at bedtime, five days on and two days off.

GHRP-6

Growth hormone boosters

On dosing

Same 100 mcg as hexarelin and ipamorelin

Dose
“100 micrograms”

“A 100 micrograms. It's the same as these other, like ipamorelin, GHRP-6, a 100 micrograms.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: Answering Andrew Huberman’s question about the hexarelin dose he typically prescribes; he puts GHRP-6 at the same amount. How often is not stated in this answer.

Tesamorelin

Growth hormone boosters

On dosing

2 mg per dose

Dose
“2 milligrams per dose”

“The two that are different would be tesamorelin, ideal dose 2 milligrams per dose, which is 2,000 micrograms, so quite different.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: Contrasting it with the 100 microgram amount he gives for ipamorelin, GHRP-6 and hexarelin. How often is not stated here. Elsewhere in the episode he describes a bedtime stack of BPC-157, ipamorelin and tesamorelin used with patients.

Sermorelin

Growth hormone boosters

On dosing

A broad range: 200 up to 3,000 mcg

Dose
“200 micrograms up to 3,000 micrograms”

“Then sermorelin has actually a very broad dosing range anywhere from 200 micrograms. I've used it up to 3,000 micrograms-”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: The sentence is cut off in the transcript where Huberman reacts (“Whoa.”). How often is not stated.

Thymosin alpha-1

Immune support

On dosing

With long-COVID patients: 5,000 mcg a day

Dose
“5,000 micrograms a day”
How taken
“sometimes intravenously”

“We use it a lot with long COVID, and we were using 5,000 micrograms a day, sometimes intravenously, getting great results, very safe, had no issues with it. Unfortunately, it's off the table.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: Describing past use in his clinic for long COVID. “Off the table” refers to US compounding restrictions discussed just before. The non-intravenous route is not stated.

NAD+

Healthy ageing & energy

On dosing

With patients: 100 mg under the skin, five days on

Dose
“100 milligrams”
How often
“five days on, two days off”
How taken
“subcutaneously”

“Actually, that's worked out really well. We'll do 100 milligrams subcutaneously, again, five days on, take two days off. You get a little bit of that stomach cramping from the 100 milligram injection.”

Read the sourceDr. Craig Koniver: Peptide & Hormone Therapies for Health, Performance & Longevity (Huberman Lab transcript) · 7 Oct 2024

Context: What his clinics started doing during the pandemic. Before this he describes the in-clinic IV protocol they settled on: a 750 milligram “loading dose” given as five treatments in 10 days, then usually a monthly IV maintenance dose.

Sources used (9)